Insidious: The Last Key (2018) Poster

User Reviews

Add a Review
63 ReviewsOrdered By: Helpfulness
7/10
Similar to Previous Films- Decent Horror Film
jasonescamilla4 January 2018
This movie focuses on Elise's character and that is undeniably the best part of the film. The scary scenes feel too similar to what we have seen in the previous installments but overall, it was enjoyable.

15 out of 21 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
5/10
Just as, if not worse, than the previous entry, this fourth chapter confirms that life is fast running out of the "Insidious" franchise
moviexclusive4 January 2018
Warning: Spoilers
Few horror franchises have found life beyond their third chapter, and "Insidious" proves no different.

Picking up right after the events of "Insidious: Chapter 3", this fourth entry further (pun intended) explores the backstory of demonologist Elise Rainier (Lin Shaye), who was murdered in a memorable twist at the end of the first film. Here, Elise is first introduced as a young girl living in a foreboding two-storey house on the outskirts of a New Mexico prison in 1952 where her stern father (Josh Stewart) works as a prison guard. Turns out that Elise already had a gift (or curse, depending on which way you look at it) for seeing ghosts then, but when she disobeys her father's order to deny her paranormal abilities, he locks her in the basement. It is there she first encounters this movie's demon - a tall lanky beast with old-timey keys for fingers - and unknowingly unlocks a mysterious red door for the monster to cross over into our world.

Back in the present day, Elise receives a phone call from a stranger who asks for her help with the ghosts in his house. That house turns out to be her childhood home, and despite her initial reservations at literally revisiting past demons, she eventually musters up the courage to confront what she recognises she had previously unleashed. It helps that she isn't alone; thanks to the events in the last movie, she is now accompanied by a pair of dopey sidekicks Tucker (Angus Sampson) and Specs (Leigh Whannell). To be sure, their signature high-tech gizmos aren't of much use (certainly much less than they were in the first two movies), so their presence is really as comic relief - like Tucker loves to repeat, "She's psychic; we're sidekick."

What distinguished "Insidious" from other haunted-house movies was its creation of 'The Further', a terrifying place between life and death that exists on a different realm from ours where evil spirits trapped not just the souls of the dead but also those who were able to project themselves astrally while asleep. Elise was established to be one such individual, and it isn't reasonable that she would quickly return to 'The Further' in order to seek out the entity which had terrorised her and is terrorising the house's current inhabitant as well as the spirits she sees around the property. But Whannell, who had written every one of the "Insidious" movies, has other intentions; in fact, the middle act sees Elise come face-to-face with a different real-life horror, which while well-intentioned, is not nearly as developed as it needs to be and is hardly as interesting as the ghouls of 'The Further'. Only in the final act does Elise finally return to that purgatory, but that homecoming is over too fast, too soon and too conveniently, almost as if it were simply an afterthought to form a narrative bridge into the first movie.

Even though the earlier 'Insidious' films had similarly spare scripts, they benefited from the taut direction of James Wan, who knew how to build perfectly good scares with icy dread. Unfortunately, series newcomer Adam Robitel doesn't quite have the same knack. Not only is he able to generate the same atmosphere as Wan did, Robitel often betrays his own lack of confidence by resorting to the sort of jump-cuts which quickly tire out. This being his sophomore feature, he also lacks the experience to properly smooth over the rough edges of Whannell's writing - in particular, the parts intended to be poignant, such as Elise's estrangement from her skittish younger brother Christian (Bruce Davison), come off feeling contrived and sit awkwardly with the rest of the parts designed to frighten.

Ultimately, it is Shaye who holds the rickety film together, portraying Elise with just the right balance of vulnerability and fearlessness. While it may seem opportunistic that the "Insidious" series goes down the same road as "The Conjuring" (by using the same parapsychologist(s) across its entries), Shaye very much holds her own as the film's septuagenarian heroine. That said, it is not quite nearly enough to reinvigorate the franchise itself, which seems imprisoned in its own creative limits and cannot quite go any further (that's another pun, fully intended). Perhaps its title is ominous of its fate, and even if 'The Last Key' isn't the last we hear of "Insidious", then the next chapter better have a much more compelling raison d'être.
11 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
2/10
Is it a comedy movie?
David Aniston8 January 2018
Good story, good acting and great connections with the other ones. I hated the comedy, it is supposed to be scary. Get Rid of the fat guy.
8 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
Surprisingly Great!
kelleyjoshua3 January 2018
Warning: Spoilers
First of all, I've been watching Insidious since it first came out. I. like the first 2, not so much with the third 1. However, this film surprised me with characters from the original film. I'd suggest this film to any horror lover.
8 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
9/10
Scared The Hell Out Of Us
theopinionatedindian5 January 2018
Insidious: The Last Key is the fourth installment of hit franchise. While the first two movies revolve around Josh Lambert & family. The third & fourth installments mainly revolve around Elise Rainier & her encounters with supernatural elements. The movie starts off in the year 1953. Elise Rainier (Ava Kolker) is a young girl, who stays with her brother & parents. She has this innate gift/curse of seeing ghosts & speaking to them. While her mother understands her situation & is compassionate towards her, her father is completely annoyed with this weird ability. A childhood incident leads to disastrous results. Elise Rainier leaves her home & starts life afresh away from her family. She then grows up to be an accomplished ghost buster. Several years later, she gets a call from the new occupant of her house. The new occupant has been facing the wrath of the supernatural forces lurking in his house. He hopes that Elise Rainier (Lin Shaye) will help him out. Psychic Elise is joined by her two sidekicks (watch the movie to get the joke) - Tucker (Angus Sampson) & Specs (Leigh Whannell). These two are the comic relief in the movie. What follows is a series of spooky incidents, which will keep you at the edge of your seats. The movie does have its share of emotional scenes. Family reunions post several years, strength of a mother's love for her kids are aspects on which the makers rely on to create an emotional bond with the viewers. There are enough twists & turns to keep you guessing. There were some twists, which no one can probably see coming. The script follows the usual crest & trough pattern. There are a few scenes which take the story further, followed by some horror scenes & again some scenes to take the story further. Thankfully, there are more crests than troughs. The horror quotient in this movie is very high. It did manage to scare us & the effects did manage to startle us. The movie is scarier than the latest movie from the Annabelle series. Producer James Wan is truly a genius. His collaboration with Leigh Whannell has always managed to impress us. Leigh Whannell acts, scripts & produces the movie as well. Music by Joseph Bishara does manage to accentuate the effect of the horror scenes. The acting by the cast is good. There are no flaws in the movie to speak of. Although we were a tad unhappy with the way the movie ended. The ending could have been scripted better. But, we strongly recommend this movie to all horror movie aficionados. Do watch it at a theatre near you!
10 out of 17 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
Amazing fourth edition into the franchise! More scares than ever!
hkdestiny3 January 2018
Firstly, I would like to say that Elise is such a crucial part of this film and I couldn't have related more with anyone but her. I love her role in this. Always outstanding! The storyline is solid with characters that you can connect with and the scares DO FOLLOW! Best way to start your 2018 off with this spooky and very scary film!
19 out of 38 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
Really good, intense
tiffanydburgett6 January 2018
It seems to me the reviewers giving this movie a poor rating don't even care for the franchise. Like a lot of James Wan movies there is a back story that ties in incredibly well to the other movies. It is about as scary as the others. My husband thought it was done very similarly to the third installment. My favorite is the second one and this is my second favorite in terms of story and fear factor so that will hopefully be helpful to those who are trying to decide on seeing it or not.
7 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
7/10
A Movie Just For This Franchise's Fans
www.ramascreen.com3 January 2018
Warning: Spoilers
INSIDIOUS: THE LAST KEY has enough effective scares to keep the fans entertained but it will not bring in new converts though. It's not the best installment out of the entire franchise but it's a decent prequel that serves its purpose and that is to put further spotlight on the legacy of one of horror genre's most underrated icons, actress Lin Shaye.

Brought to you by the same creative minds behind "Insidious" trilogy, this fourth installment, Insidious: The Last Key takes you back to the beginning, to the family history of renowned parapsychologist, Dr. Elise Rainer and how the haunting in her own family home has returned with a vengeance. It is up to Elise and her spectral sighting team to defeat this demon once and for all.

Even though Insidious: The Last Key is directed by somebody new to the franchise, Adam Robitel, much of the style follows suit with its predecessors, so in a way, this movie is very formulaic, the objective is the same which is to present to you a big bad villain in a form of a demon at the end of the story and that's not really a spoiler because the other movies did the same thing. Because this is a prequel, it takes its time in setting the whole thing up in terms of Elise's family and the abuse she and her brother endured when they were kids. This part, these flashbacks are just as creepy, if not creepier than what's happening in the present day with Elise trying to communicate with spirits in the dark.

By the way, actress Lin Shaye has been in this business and specifically has been part of this genre forever, so as a fan, it really is cool to see a movie like this that allows her to showcase her all, that gives her room and space to do what she does best, in a way, they might as well have titled this movie, Insidious The Lin Shaye lifetime achievement award.

I actually enjoyed how the film presents Elise's background, the whole theme of it kinda resonates with any kid who grows up feeling different and the parents try to beat it out of you instead of helping you embrace your specialty and uniqueness. So that approach does help in making you empathize with Elise which is an effective strategy in any horror film because the jump scares can only do so much, what's truly scary is when you feel scared for the safety of the characters whose journey you've been following, and that's what Insidious: The Last Key offers. I'm also mildly amused by the comic relief of Leigh Whannell and Angus Sampson who play Elise's sidekicks, granted some of the humor does feel a bit dumb but they mean well, so it's one of those that just make you shake your head and dismiss them as immature children. Insidious The Last Key is scary enough, it's entertaining enough for the fans, it's a popcorn horror thriller you'd want to take your girlfriend to see just so that she can curl up next to you when she feels squeamish, this really is a movie just for the fans of the franchise, and despite some of its few ridiculous scenes, I think overall they're going to be grateful that this installment exists.

-- Rama's Screen --
4 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
3/10
An Atrocious Horror Film to Start off 2018
Yee_Reviews5 January 2018
Good: For the most part, the acting is decent with Lin Shaye's calm and pleasant presence performing exceptionally well for 74 years old. The intro is engaging and suspenseful, but as the movie unfolds, it falls apart...

Bad: Some of the worst writing I have seen from the convoluted story with confusing plot points to the unfunny humor. The movie tries to pull twists and turns, but most of them do not make sense logically and end up being confusing. For 103 minutes, the movie tends to drag due to a lack coherence and ineffective scares.

Overall: Shaye cannot hold up the messy and sloppy writing. As a fan of the Insidious series, I felt this to be an outlier and desperately fail at being an adequate entry into the series.

1.5/5
12 out of 26 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
6/10
A good start to 2018
pranayjalvi4 January 2018
The 4th Installment in the Insidious Franchise is a very good one and probably far better than the 3rd one. The movie was slow and tense and draws past life experiences of Elise.As has been the case since the first film, this one centers on shock cuts and sudden appearances of figures in the shadows. Insidious : The Last Key is a good attempt with jump scares which may get good hold-up with the audiences.
8 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
6/10
Very Slow. Not scary. And please end this series here.
reginalddjohnsonsr4 January 2018
Warning: Spoilers
This movie focuses on the past pains from Elise's life from here old home in 5 keys. Throughout the movie, it gets slow and then a jump scare happens. Jump scares are not what horror is about. The red and black spirit is the creepiest thing in this franchise. Lin Shayne is doing a great job playing her character, but the dialogue is too slow. It had a decent story and the saving mark for this movie was the 2 Nerds. They are always fun to watch. Lastly, the climax was not good. If this was suppose to move to the 1st Insidious movie, then where was more of her ghost hunting? It never showed time moved on after the mom defeated the Key spirit. Its a ok film to watch. Check it out once this come out on Nextflix.
5 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
Worth watching!
sreeram-970465 January 2018
According to my personal experience, the movie seemed pretty much amazing and i would recommend this movie to all those horror movie fans. Although the story line aint that thick, they managed to cover all the flaws with the brilliant acting from Lin Shaye and her so called associates. Enjoyed it! and yeah, cool start to 2k18.
10 out of 23 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
7/10
NOT A BAD ONE
gvivekanandg5 January 2018
Movie not so scary, but in some place you will jump out of your chair because of the sound effect, story quite confusing and completely varies from the previous versions, as usual not lengthy movie so acceptable to spend some time for entertainment portion of your daily life, DON'T MISS THE FIRST SCENE which is far good than other scenes.. Worth watch in BIG screen, so watch soon.
3 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
7/10
The Last Key Unlocks More Answers, Fewer Scares, and More References For Franchise Fans
rgkarim5 January 2018
My scores:

Horror/Mystery/Thriller: 7.5 Movie Overall: 6.0



LIKES:

Characters Story Creep Factor

Dislikes: Dropped plot points Anticlimactic Ending Missing Trailer scenes

Summary: A fourth installment usually means a low-quality movie that is strictly for merchandising and money making. However, Insidious 4, while not the best of the series, keeps the tradition of horror storytelling alive by focusing on plot and character development rather than just plain old scares that the genre is famous for. Elise's backstory is fascinating, and helps connect some elements that were once shrouded in the mists of the unknown, and is presented nicely as past is integrated with present. In addition, while not the scariest, the group does a fantastic job utilizing shadows, make-up, and sound editing to establish a creep factor that will keep you on edge. All of this come together to make a nice mystery/horror that is worthy of the series. Yet, the fourth installment still has its flaws primarily in the scare tactics, (e.g. jump scare tactics) have gotten old despite their attempts to tune it up. In addition, the plot had some dropped and rushed elements, alongside an anticlimactic wrap up, that took away from the story overall. In addition, there are a lot of scenes from the trailers missing, some of which really could have added on to the story, or allowed for more creepy makeup to be used. Overall, this movie is a solid entry in the series and answers some of those lingering questions we have had since the whole prequel component was started. Yet, it does establish new questions and drops on the finish that could have really made the story exponentially better. And while the scare tactics are getting somewhat stale, Insidious is at least managing to keep things creepy and relevant to a point instead of just a super scare fest that this genre is famous for. It's worth a trip to the theater for the franchise fans, however, you can wait this out for the home cinema to save yourselves money.

Want more details? Please visit:

Https://robbiesmoviereviews.wordpress.com/last-key-unlocks-more-answers-more-questions-and-fewer-scares/
3 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
2/10
As much as I like Elise...I don't like all the Corny Cheese. Ruined by Last 15 Minutes.
MickandRorty12 January 2018
This movie attempts to give a backstory to the face of the Insidious franchise, Elise. It was okay for most of the way through. At times sloppy, but it was decent enough through the first 85% of the movie. Then, it actually took a crazy turn that was brilliant that lasted for about 5 minutes....only to be completely ruined by the last 15 minutes.

A better metaphor for this film would be to say:

They were cramming too much slop into this movie. And, just when you thought they were actually going to pull it off and seal the lid with a satisfactory ending...they slipped and all the sloppy corny cheese spilled everywhere. A vomit-worthy finish to the series!

A shame too, because with another rewrite there was definitely some good elements in here.

When it wraps up, you won't even know how to feel about certain characters in this movie. Villain or victim? Who knows? Who cares.... this franchise has lost me at this point. As much as I like Elise...I don't like all the cheese!

2/10
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
1/10
One of the worst horror movies
Ken Wu8 January 2018
Warning: Spoilers
Apart from the performance of Lin Shaye, I don't have anything remotely positive to say about this movie.

First of all, people in this movie seem to have the intelligence of a six year old. Why would Christian bring her two daughters to the haunted house after seeing a picture of the whistle? Elise gave the daughter the picture, the reasonable thing to do would be to contact Elise to ask for the picture and not go back to that house! Stupid, unreasonable things like this happen throughout the movie.

Secondly, the scares are cheap. The scare tactics have been used a million times before. Everytime the movie tries to be scary I just couldn't help rolling my eyes.

Thirdly, the ending was very anticlimactic. How do you think the ultimate monster died? The mom showed up and with one swift strike, destroys the monster. If the mom could kill the monster so easily, where were she in the preceding 50-odd years????

Last but not least, the casting was bad. Christian, Elise's younger brother, looked 10-20 years older than Elise.

I would have left the theater in the middle had I not come with a friend.
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
3/10
Horrible writing, equally bad acting. A few good scares got me through the movie.
sehpt14 January 2018
The first 2 movies were much better. Elise's character was not able to carry the movie. At times somewhat laughable and corny.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
3/10
blow the whistle and mom come to rescue, "kick" the demon away...
ckwongcheekeong6 January 2018
Warning: Spoilers
You must be kidding me... blow the whistle and mom come to rescue, "kick" the demon away...
3 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
7/10
Way better than expected ! Still far from Insidious 1
KrazyJoke5 January 2018
I am a big fan of the Insidious franchise or should I say only the first Insidious! The past year haven't been the best for Insidious since in my opinion Chapter 2 and 3 weren't what I hoped they would be..... They were kind of bad some great scares but wasted by terrible plots. Insidious 1 was one of the best horror movie made and din't get sequels that could come close to it.

So with Insidious 4, I saw the trailer was happy the were making a new one, but the trailer in my opinion was the worst, it looked so bad and ridiculous ....... an evil with keys on his fingers ..... ohhh wow super scary, no the idea looked dumb. So my first look at the movie was bad, I was not hyped for it to hit theaters.

I was wrong, the movie is done in a twisted way a brillant way that makes connection with the first Insidious in a really great way. The movie is far from being the scariest, but he may be the one with the best characters and the most tragic one. The acting from the whole cast is good, and as always Shaye still is the best part just like all Insidious movies, her performances is always fresh, new and amazing, plus the characters Elise is one of the strongest horror characters I have seen on the big screen. The villans in this one such as the demon himself is not scary and is not the best, but Elise *Spoiler* is one of the most well made adition in the franchise it's orignial and makes the whole franchise more real and good.

There are some great scares but if you really want to get scared this one is not the best one, it had some memorable scares, but overall it was more of a psychological horror movie with troubled people that are someway possesed.

That said I don't want to spoil anything so let's just say that it's great if you see this movie has an horror movie not a movie that would win an award or anything it's fun to watch with friends or alone and is a great movie for Insidious fans. Ohhh and lots of great scenes from the trailer are cut .... so don't try to look for them.

Thanks for reading my review and enjoy Insidious: The Last Key
3 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
Darker, but funnier
pal050520037 January 2018
Warning: Spoilers
Lin Shaye returns as Elise Rainier, who has to literally fight her personal demon. This installment acts as Elise's origin story, and centers around how her traumatic childhood affected her present. The film is darker than the previous installments both literally and thematically. The only bright scenes are those outside haunted houses, and practically every room featured in the movie is dark, dank, and gloomy. The theme is also darker because we see Elise 's tragic past, and a brief dark turn for her character. What makes Elise interesting as a hero is how human her character is; frail, fearful, yet daring to face danger when needed. In fact, the stakes are higher in this series because we see Elise at her lowest point. Fortunately, the grimness is lightened by humor provided by Angus Samson and Leigh Whannel's duo. Actually, the humor is this movie is more abundant that any of its predecessors. Though we are familiar with the world of the Further, it still retains its gloomy, and nightmarish qualities. There are a few jump scares, but the movie mostly works because of the slowburning dread, and claustrophobic atmosphere in many of the scenes. Yet the weak point of the movie is Elise's older version of her brother, and one of her nieces, who conveniently has her ability when the moment strikes. The reunion could have worked, but was not necessary, and the writer could have just focused on Elise facing her personal demons. I think the movie wanted to appeal to new audiences by adding two attractive blonds to the story. Apart from that, the movie is a solid piece. Furthermore, the conclusion of this part perfectly ties in with the first Insidious, and for me that was probably the best part of the movie.
2 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
A disgrace to the Insidious franchise!
jacobkilby-735607 January 2018
This was quite easily the worst Insidious movie yet. If anything, it felt more like a movie from the "Scary Movie" franchise than one from the "Insidious" franchise. By this, I mean that they essentially tried to combine a comedy and a horror movie together. Not only that, but the storyline was all over the place and the acting was horrendous. To summarize, it was basically a really bad comedy movie with a few jump scares in it. Whatever happened to Insidious actually being scary? Would highly suggest skipping this one.
2 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
7/10
Troubled Backstory
steve beard6 January 2018
Warning: Spoilers
I saw "Insidious:The Last Key", starring Lin Shaye-Big Ass Spider!, There's Something About Mary; Angus Sampson-Fargo_tv, Mad Max:Fury Road; Josh Stewart-Criminal Minds_tv, The Dark Knight Rises and Bruce Davison-The Lords of Salem, X-Men. This is the fourth in the series and leads right into the first one-I guess you could call it a prequel. Lin returns as the psychic extrodinaire and you get her troubled backstory, and all the problems of growing up with her psychic powers. Josh is her father, a prison guard, that does not believe in the spirit world. He is kind of abusive with Lin; locking her in a basement room as punishment for seeing the ghosts. Bruce is Lin's brother, who is mainly scared all the time because of his sister's visions and believe it or not, there are lots of dead people around a prison-lots of executions, you know. Around 2010-just before the first Insidious movie came out-Lin gets a phone call from a man living in the house she grew up in. It seems that he is having spirit problems and needs her help. She grabs her two trusty sidekicks and heads to her old home. Angus plays one of the assistants and he has most of the funny scenes. There are some dark secrets uncovered and plenty of scary moments to be had. It's rated "PG-13" for disturbing thematic content, violence, language and terror and has a running time of 1 hour & 43 minutes. I enjoyed it and would buy it on DVD.
2 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
4/10
Why some scenes are missing?
himmetmeral13 January 2018
Insidious: The Last Key is the 4th instalment of Insidious Saga. Although it is far better than Insidious Chapter 3, it is also far away from first two and still unsatisfying. This time, the movie was very slow. There's a problem with the story and scenes we watched in trailers are mostly missing. Unfortunately, Leigh Whannell didn't do anything new. Although the story was very good, there wasn't any new action. Moreover, there are few story mistakes. For example, we didn't see the bride in black who is Elise's biggest enemy from the first Lambert haunting in 1986 in any single scene through the whole movie. Bride in black(namely, Parker Crane) appeared in chapter 3. We know that chapter 4 takes a place after the Chapter 3 and just before the Chapter 1 in Insidious timeline. So didn't he supposed to appear in this chapter too? This is the problem that shouldn't have been done. Furthermore, there were unnecessary comedy scenes. This is a horror movie. It doesn't make sense and it was irritating. Over and above, there are too many missing scenes and this is the most annoying thing. Unhappily, we can't watch everything that we saw in trailer. Presumably, they did this in order to make it shorter or they just trolled us. Whichever you prefer to say. Also, in my opinion, this chapter was not terrifying enough. There were jump scare scenes but in general, I couldn't find it horrible. Apart from these, Leigh Whannell did great connections with other insidious movies. I don't talk about this because I don't want to spoil you. Overall, story was good, acting was awesome, and I really appreciate Lin Shaye's acting. We should consider that she is 74. In spite of that, her performance was very good. Connections with the other chapters were surprising. Unfortunately, there are more pits than tops. That's why, My Score: 4 / 10
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
4/10
Fails to unlock it's potential
Corey James12 January 2018
This review of Insidious: The Last Key is spoiler free

** (2/5)

SINCE STARTING IN 2010 the Insidious franchise only had one initial idea from director James Wan and writer Leigh Whannell: it started life as a creepy haunted house movie. And you can probably bet that with all the demons, the different characters and the initial storyline that gets pumped out it always ends in the house in which it spawned. Four movies in and the series doesn't seem to have lost that initial scope, that, we can say is a promising aspect for the wearying supernatural storyline of Insidious: The Last Key it ends at a house. However what happens in the meantime tends to lose pretty much everything else.

The film kicks off with a reasonably well-executed prologue instead of opening with the victim of the haunting here the focus changes hands to the childhood of Parapsychologist Dr. Elise Rainier (Lin Shaye), delving deeper into her personal life and inevitably exploring her darkest fears. The 1950s atmosphere is handled with care, the eerie tone that comes with it is polished and the performances are charming. Then the film shifts to the era of the first instalment, and again she returns with her idiotic psychics to investigate her family home and face off against her most dangerous demon. However that sudden shift it seems everything has pretty much been rubbed off as the clean rug has been pulled from us unveiling a Smorgasbord of constant clichés, tired scares and a rubbery demon which from first glance looks to have lost all inspiration.

Like Insidious: Chapter 3 this is a prequel story (now it's 3, 4, 1 and 2 should you ever feel the need to screen these films in chronologically). But this one is Elise's personal story it delves deeper into her life, and director Adam Robitel (The Taking of Deborah Logan) solidly brings her story to life. The look of fear as she faces her most dangerous demon, the close relationship she has with her duo of psychics (Whannell and Angus Sampson) and the intercutting flashbacks of her early years with her abusive father (Josh Stewart). It's certainly a well-done premise now we're four films in and it's made better with Shaye's always welcome presence. Yet despite the title the film fails to unlock all the ideas at hand and with fewer scares than ever it seems that all the inspiration has been entirely rubbed off, initially losing its spark. Granted Insidious: The Last Key is certainly murky stuff losing its potential over the previous instalments but you have to credit the ambitious casting at putting 74-year-old Shaye at the top. Plus the addition of the emotional plot writes some creative grandeur, yet due to uninspired ideas and tired scares it seems that the ideas have hit their tipping point. VERDICT Shaye's always welcome presence gives her all but after uninspired ideas, a routine storyline, retired scares and lacking inspiration it's clear that the fourth chapter has lost all hope.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
1/10
Lazy.
ugne-lebedevaite12 January 2018
I feel laziness of the makers compared to previous Insidious movies. The dialogues were really really bad, not even close to how real humans react and interact. It lacked real emotional depth and psychological intensity apart from Elise's childhood scenes. The humor was really cliche and ruined the flow of the movie. One second you're in a horror movie, the other in a bad comedy, taking away the horror factor completely. It's like the script writer forgot that real horror doesn't lie in a single jump-scare. Many of the characters felt random, not contributing anything significant to the story line despite being depicted as if they did. Let's say a character is said to be very special and significant, yet that doesn't appear anywhere in the movie. Then a character who was never depicted as anything significant just randomly comes into the story and does the impossible without any rational explanation. That's a plot-hole. Also, plot twists are good if you know how to make them feel realistic. In this movie, it either felt random or very cliche. The ending scenes were the most disappointing of all. 1. If a person who has never had any interaction with the supernatural. experiences what's supposed to be the most traumatic and horrifying situation in their life, they'd probably shouldn't be able to immediately talk and smile after they got out of it. They should be in shock and look the part. 2. If you present an evil character like it's the most horrible and powerful thing you ever encountered, you probably shouldn't be able to defeat it like it's an episode of "One Punch Man." I'm a huge horror fan. In the last Insidious movie I was so freaked I had nightmares for two days. This movie wasn't scary apart from the occasional jump-scare.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
loading
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews